Like most states, Ohio requires anyone operating a motor vehicle to have insurance, with the potential for penalties and fines if you are caught driving without insurance. But despite this law, many motorists in Ohio do not have any insurance — or they only have the minimum amount necessary to permit them to legally drive. When uninsured or underinsured motorists cause an accident, it raises the question of who will pay for the damage that they have caused. At the law firm of E. Ray Critchett, we can help clients who have been injured by drivers without insurance.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists in Ohio
The State of Ohio requires anyone driving a motor vehicle to have insurance or proof of financial responsibility. Drivers must have insurance policies with a minimum of $25,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. The policy must also have $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
While this may seem like a high amount, the reality is that $25,000 won’t go far when someone is hurt in a car accident. Immediate medical care after an accident, ongoing medical treatment, lost wages and other expenses can quickly exceed this amount. Once this insurance is exhausted, an injured party will have to look elsewhere to recover the costs of their medical treatment and other losses.
One option may be to file a lawsuit against the responsible party. However, if they are carrying the minimum insurance amount or do not have any insurance, it is unlikely that they will have sufficient assets to pay for your damages. In that situation, filing a claim with your own insurance company is the next step.